McBee Fellowship

Home/McBee Fellowship
Colorado River at McKinney Roughs photo

McBee Fellowship

The Frank McBee Jr. Fellows Program is a rigorous, 13-month program for civic leadership development.  Frank McBee Jr. Fellowships offer exceptional Central Texas leaders first-hand, practical experience working with regional civic entrepreneurs on a variety of public policy issues to improve the long-term economic and social quality of life for all Central Texans.

The Fellowship is designed to seed Central Texas with leaders who think regionally and act as stewards for the greater common good. Like AARO members, McBee Fellows:

  • Lead with integrity – individually and collectively.
  • Establish and nurture relationships of trust.
  • Think and act systemically, considering the interdependency of issues.

During the program year, Fellows actively engage with many of the region’s most influential business and community leaders through AARO committee and membership meetings.  In addition, each Fellow meets regularly with two AARO mentors throughout the year.  AARO carefully selects the mentors for each Fellow to maximize their growth as leaders and enhance the quality of the Fellowship experience.

Fellows are expected to repay the privilege of participating in the Fellowship year by contributing to the region as future leaders. AARO hopes McBee alumni will inspire others in their spheres of influence to think and act in the long term best interest of the region.

Applicants must live in Bastrop, Burnet, Caldwell, Hays, Travis or Williamson counties.  Applications from most elected officials or candidates running for elected office will not be considered.  AARO will consider applications from school board or community college trustees and candidates. 

Austin Area Research Organization (AARO) is accepting applications for the 2018 Class of Frank McBee Jr. Fellows.  Completed applications are due by noon CDT on Thursday, August 10, 2017.

2018 McBee Fellowship Program – Program and Application Details
2018 McBee Fellowship Program – Program Application Preview
2018 McBee Fellowship Program – Program Application

Contact Diana Barton at 512-477-4000 or for more information.